Dr. Chandra Shekhar Sharma

Creative & Advanced Research Based On Nanomaterials (CARBON) Laboratory

Click here to edit subtitle

INYAS-frontiers of Science, 2018 GIAN course on "Fluidics on a Compact Disc- A Short Course for Academia and Industry" : 26th November-4th December, 2018 TEQIP Workshop on MEMS & NEMS : December 17-22, 2018

International Conference on Carbon-MEMS , 2018

Welcome to the Home page of CARBON Laboratory

CARBON stands for Creative & Advanced Research Based On Nanomaterials. With its core theme on Carbon in the form of a variety of nanomaterials, further as the name suggests, CARBON Laboratory at IIT Hyderabad focuses on creativity, innovation and advanced research that can be directly applied to solve the problems around us. We use a wide variety of polymers and block co-polymers either directly or as a precursors to carbon upon controlled pyrolysis. These polymers and carbon structures may be in the form of thin films, nanoparticles, nanofibers or in hierarchical/multi-scale form. Some of the applications of these polymer and/or carbon nanomaterials are being explored in the field of energy (as electrode materials for batteries and supercapacitors), environment (adsorbents for water and air purification, waste management), healthcare (feminine hygiene, drug delivery, tissue scaffolds) and sensors.

We thank our collaborators who bring different perspectives to the research problems with their expertise in different domains. We acknowledge our funding agencies to show the confidence in our research problem statements.

Contact Information:

Email: cssharma@iith.ac.in 
Phone: +91-(040) 2301 6112 
Fax: +91-(040) 2301 6003


Dr. Chandra Shekhar Sharma has been selected for NASI Young Scientist-Platinum Jubilee Award 2017. 

Dr. Chandra Shekhar Sharma receives Institute of Engineers (India)(IEI) Young Engineer's Award 2016 in Chemical Engineering discipline. 

Dr. Chandra Shekhar Sharma receives SERB Indo-US Fellowship 2016. 

Dr. Chandra Shekhar Sharma receives DST Young Scientist Award 2016. 

Congratulations to Shital Yadav for winning INAE innovative student project award 2015, for M. Tech thesis. 

Congratulations to Dr. Manohar Kakunuri and Dr. Anulekha K.H. for successful defence of their Ph.D thesis.

International Media coverage on our recent candle soot work.

Dr. Chandra Shekhar Sharma receives DST INSPIRE Faculty Award (2015). 

Congratulations to Shital Yadav, Poojitha Illa and Tulika Rastogi for Gandhian Young Technological Innovation Award-2015.