About IITH

IIT Hyderabad is one among the 2nd generation of IITs started by the Govt. of India. Today IITH offers 11 BTech programs, 1 BDes Program, 3 MSc programs, 18 MTech programs, 1 MDes program, 1 MA Program and 15 PhD programs in all branches of engineering, science, liberal arts and design. The very foundation of IIT Hyderabad is based on research and innovation. The vibrant research culture is evident from the number of patents and publications that IITH has. At IITH, students are given a plethora of choices, which they diligently choose with the help of a faculty advisor. Courses that last for a semester are carefully mixed with short or mid-term courses at IITH. From 2014-15 academic year onwards, all B.Tech programs started offering courses that are of smaller credits; called the fractal academics; very carefully designed to keep the students' enthusiasm and keep them in pace with state of the art from 1st semester till 8th semester. IITH, in the past couple of years, has been highly successful in building tie-ups with leading academic institutions around the globe. IITH is creating a unique holistic educational ecosystem that offers interactive learning, a highly flexible academic structure, cutting-edge research, strong industry collaboration, and entrepreneurship. It is providing an environment wherein students and faculty are not afraid to translate their dreams into realities. IIT Hyderabad is placed in National Institute Ranking Framework Ranking #8 and is among the top 10 from India in the QS World Rankings.

About SUT

Swinburne University of Technology (often simply called Swinburne) is an Australian public university based in Melbourne, Victoria. It was founded in 1908 as the Eastern Suburbs Technical College by George Swinburne in order to serve those without access to further education in Melbourne's eastern suburbs. Its main campus is located in Hawthorn, a suburb of Melbourne which is located 7.5 km from the Melbourne central business district. In addition to its main Hawthorn campus, Swinburne has campuses in the Melbourne metropolitan area at Wantirna and Croydon. Swinburne also has a campus in Sarawak, Malaysia. In 2016, Swinburne was ranked as the 61st top university in the world under 50 years old by Times Higher Education in their top 150 universities under 50 years old ranking. It is also ranked 32nd in the world for art and design in the 2016 QS World University Rankings, making it one of the top art and design schools in Australia and the world.

IITH-SUT Joint Doctoral Program (JDP)

IITH and SUT are offering a joint doctoral program for bright and motivated students to work on frontier areas of science and technology. The students admitted in the JDP will have an opportunity to spent up to one year at SUT supported by scholarship from SUT.

Fellowship Duration: 4 years


  1. BE/BTech in the relevant branches of science/engineering with a CGPA of 8.5 (in 10-point scale) or equivalent for the general category (relaxation will be given for other categories as per the GoI norms). The applicants should have a valid GATE score. The GATE score may be waived for students from IITs and NITs.
  2. MDes/MSc/MTech in the relevant branch of design/science/engineering with a CGPA of 8.5 (in 10 point scale) or equivalent for the general category (relaxation will be given for other categories as per the GoI norms).

Financial Assistance:

The students admitted in the JDP will receive a fellowship as per the Ministry of Education norms while at IIT Hyderabad. In addition, students may receive a top-up scholarship amount while they are IIT Hyderabad. While at SUT, they will receive a scholarship identical to the Swinburne University Postgraduate Research Awards (SUPRAs).

Last date of Application:

The last date has been closed on 20.04.2021 at 17:00 IST.